What Is Chakra Meditation And How You Can Master It In Five Easy Steps

Chakra meditation

The reason I love chakra meditation is its flexibility. There are so many ways to come into your body, centre yourself, and commune with the source. One of the ways that’s becoming extremely popular nowadays due to the increased interest in Tantra yoga, and the sexual chakra, is Chakra Meditation.

What are Chakras?

First of all, we will go through the basics of Chakras. Chakras are channels of energy through our bodies, that runs through the centre of the body from the crown, down to the root chakra.

These channels of energy can be deficient or in excess, resulting in different symptoms and blockages.

I recommend the book, ‘Eastern Body, Western Mind’, by Judith Anodea for an in-depth analysis of Chakras. Her book is my bible in figuring out where I’m stuck and what I need to move away from it.

A brief explanation on the chakras

  1. Root chakra – This is the root chakra. Whenever I’m feeling ungrounded, due to finances, or in general, I know my root chakra is deficient. I usually do really grounding yoga, like Yin yoga, in order to build my Root chakra.
  2. Sacral Chakra – This is the sexual chakra. I think of this chakra when I think of intimate relationships.
  3. Solar Plexus chakra – This is the power chakra. I think of this chakra as my confidence chakra. I try to strengthen it through lots of core work, and the stronger I’m able to make my core, the more confident I am.
  4. Heart chakra – This is the love chakra. Any abandonment issues or failed relationships closes off this chakra. I use back bends to open up this chakra – the more open my chest is, the more open my heart becomes.
  5. Throat chakra – I think of this chakra as the truth chakra. Whenever you are unable to be truthful or open about anything, it closes off your throat chakra. Any blockage here prevents energy from going down from your crown, and blocks energy from going up from root. I open up this chakra through chanting, and mantras.
  6. Third eye chakra – This is the imagination chakra. I love this chakra – it’s the one I use to write. This chakra is always really excessive for me as I spend a lot of time in my head. In order to get out of my head, and back into my body, I use slow yoga styles like Yin Yoga.
  7. Crown chakra – This is what they call the enlightenment chakra. This is where we get into communing with the self and such. I’m again very excessive in this chakra, and it is what I use to go deeper into my meditation, while being grounded on the ground, with my feet in contact with the Earth.

What is Chakra meditation?

Chakra meditation is a meditation that focuses on the seven chakras in our body. In this meditation, instead of focusing on breath or silence, you would focus on the area of the body where your chakras would be located. So it would go from the root, sacrum, solar plexus, heart, throat, third eye, to the crown.

How does Chakra meditation work?

Chakra meditation is really simple and really effective in clearing up blockages and moving back to balance. If you are deficient or excessive in any chakra, you can use Chakra Meditation to move back to centre.

In this meditation, you would sit down in a comfortable chair or cushion. Close your eyes. Begin with a few deep breaths to focus on your body.

Start with the root chakra. Focus on the root chakra and imagine a light around that area. Imagine it filling with that light. Imagine that you are becoming more and more balanced in that chakra. Spend about five minutes on that chakra.

In this way, keep on moving up and through the chakras.

5 Easy Steps to Master Chakra Meditation

In this section, I’ll teach you 5 things that helped me become a master of Chakra meditation.

  1. Be calm and steady. When we are focused on a particular chakra, make it an easy kind of focus. Usually, when we are starting something new, and we want to master it, we want to concentrate hard, and hit it hard. In meditation, slow, steady, and easy wins the race. No need to go be too intense about it.
  2. Figure out your chakras’ deficiencies and excesses. I would definitely make figuring out my chakras’ imbalances as a major priority. When you know if a chakra is in excess or in deficiency, you are able to focus on it in a manner that will help bring it back to balance and centre.
  3. Being exact when you focus doesn’t matter. When I first started chakra meditation, I used to worry about being exact when I focused my attention. I wanted to be sure I was focusing on the right point in my body. But chakras aren’t just points on the body, but vortexes. They take up a large amount of space, so relax and focus on the general area.
  4. Spend an equal amount of time on each chakra. In the beginning, I wanted to focus more time on one chakra rather than the others, because it was the most deficient in my opinion. But then, I realized that all the chakras are so intertwined with each other, that focusing on one versus the other doesn’t make sense. So make it balanced by focusing on each one equally.
  5. Your body is so complex – there will never be complete balance. Realizing this major fact was a crucial turning point in my meditation practice. The chakras are complex energy systems, and they will take lots of concentrated time to move to balance. And there will never be a time when you will be in complete balance. There will always be ups and downs. That is the way of life. Just relax and take it one day at a time.


I hope this post helps you with your chakra meditation practice. Even if it’s a new practice to you, I wholeheartedly recommend that you start with it, and focus on it consistently. It will yield great dividends over time with consistent practice.

Get my FREE EMAIL COURSE on Building a Morning Routine That Will Increase Creativity

Say goodbye to procrastination. Learn the steps you can take TODAY to build a morning routine.

You can unsubscribe from our mailing list at any time. We won't use your email address for anything else, promise! Powered by ConvertKit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *